GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Newb to FPS, what you recommend for offline play?

g_berserk

Smartass in Training
Well, not total newbie, but my experience limits to CS 1.6, Half-Life, Unreal Tournament II, Killzone, Halo (I didn't actually liked it), Rainbow Six (a few of them) and recently Bioshock Infinite.

So, I have the basics of movement and gameplay, and although I prefer the keyboard+mouse approach, my Pc is old as balls and I have a PS3 and 360 at ready.

I'm trying to avoid extremely fast-paced games like Serious Sam, Bulletstorm, Rage and such; also, I really dislike playing them online since I don't last 2 seconds between each respawn so it ruins the fun for me, I rather have some good story, and a bit more thinking and strategy like you would do on MGS (I know it's not an FPS) or Rainbow Six Vegas.

So, overall, any (militar preferably) current FPS that you could recommend mostly for offline play, and maybe jump to multiplayer once I get used to it?

Angel@forge

Go Kart Champion
The battlefield series is by far my favorite. If you can become a little more comfortable in a multiplayer scenario it is especially rewarding.

thechromecoyote

Ready to race!
Well if you likes bioshock infinite, you should definitely play the first Bioshock, and 2 if you're really a fan.

The Fallout & Elder Scrolls series are FPS Role Playing games that are good for countless hours of gameplay.

Gears of War
Dishonored

g_berserk

Smartass in Training
The battlefield series is by far my favorite. If you can become a little more comfortable in a multiplayer scenario it is especially rewarding.
I almost bought BF3 this weekend, but since there's only info of the multpilayer part in the back of the disc case I thought the solo campaign would be lame or no-existent.

Well if you likes bioshock infinite, you should definitely play the first Bioshock, and 2 if you're really a fan.