GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

The Model 3 ruined my life

XM_Rocks

Autocross Newbie
I work in the industry. And as an example look at California.

So one state, no proof that this is a systemic issue for all metro areas in the USA?

Your bias is on full display.

inc55

Go Kart Champion
I don’t believe a gas generator can charge an electric vehicle.

If you had solar panels and two Tesla power walls you’d have enough juice to power you home and charge your car all while being off grid. How sick is that?

Dan00Hawk

Go Kart Newbie
I don’t believe a gas generator can charge an electric vehicle.

If you had solar panels and two Tesla power walls you’d have enough juice to power you home and charge your car all while being off grid. How sick is that?
The capability would depend on the size of the generator. It is just a matter of how long it would take to get to whatever level of charge you would need. I merely suggested it as a way to deal with an infrequent emergency situation, not something to do on a regular basis.

https://www.diy-experts.net/charge-ev/

Dan00Hawk

Go Kart Newbie
Sure but do you charge the car or keep the house warm and the freezers cold? The number of hours you'll have to run to get one 80% charge at 110v is going to burn way more fuel than you can probably afford in an emergency.

My point is E cars are fun and practical during good times. But when things go south you need the reliability and grid independence of a internal combustion vehicle.

One final point. The grid is not getting better. It's actually getting worse in many areas of the country. Adding transportation to it's burden isn't a smart idea.
Q: How do you fuel up your car at a gas station if there isn't any power?
A: You can't.