GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

In need of spacers advice

Fraysa

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2016 MK7 1.4TSI
Hey everyone.

I wanted to upgrade my stock 16" rims on my MK7 to 17", and my friend has an Audi A3 8P that he upgraded the rims on, so he gave me his "old" 17" genuine Audi rims which fit perfectly.

1602661933754.png

However, there's one issue. When I turn the wheels all the way to either right or left, I can hear a metal sound. I jacked up the car and noticed the inner part of the rim is touching the suspension arm, so I figured I'd need spacers.

Because I have no experience with spacers whatsoever, I did my research and found out the following differences between the old rim and the new rim:

1602661996953.png

So, I figured I'd need 10mm spacers, but I have a few questions:

1. Are the spacers required for both front and back? I assume front only, as this is a front-wheel drive vehicle, or you need to change all 4 anyway? I don't want the car to look weird.
2. What recommended brands out there? I know it's just an aluminum piece, but I want something good.
3. I assume I'd need longer studs. Checking ETKA, the P/N for the original studs is WHT-001-812. Which studs to get and how to know which?

Thanks a lot!

Ezekiel81923

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 Volkswagen GTI
With the added width and offset the inside of the wheel is almost an inch closer to the strut than the old set up. Going from +46 to +56 pulled it in 10mm and then the added 1/2" width of the wheel that is on the inside combine to cause your issue. On the flip side, the outer edge of the wheel is also 3mm out from the stock setup.

You'd need a 20mm spacer just to get that wheel close to stock clearance on the inside but that will push the wheel so far out you'd have some crazy monster truck fitment going on. I'd start with a 5mm or 10mm since you said you only hear the noise at full lock, it may just need a little bit of space.