GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Base vs. Fender vs. Dynaudio

Arkaband

Ready to race!
I recently started considering trading my 2011 Autobahn for a mk7, and that poses the frustrating decision of going down to the base audio system in the S or spending $3,000 more for the SE to get the Fender system and a bunch of other features I'm not crazy about.

The problem is I'm really picky about audio. The Dynaudio system is one of things I like the most about my car. I know aftermarket is an option, but my history with aftermarket systems has been hit or miss. If you have an aftermarket system you like, feel free to post about it.

Now, I don't know what qualifies an audiophile. I have a music degree and I appreciate good audio, but by no means do I consider myself an expert.

For the test, I picked a few songs from my SD card: Coldplay's Hurts Like Heaven, Metallica's Fade to Black, Muse's Madness and Forbidden Friendship from the How To Train Your Dragon soundtrack. I listened to them in my car, then went to my local VW dealer and listened to them on a mk7 GTI S, then in an Autobahn.

I'll start with the base system:
Hurts Like Heaven is a good test of the system's range and balance and it does surprisingly well. At my standard pop/rock EQ settings (+2/0/+2), the balance is just about right. The bass has plenty of punch. There's not even any noticeable distortion until I turned it up louder than Coldplay should ever be.
Fade To Black started showing the weaknesses of this system. The soft guitar intro wasn't offensive but lacked the clarity of the premium systems. The power chords were a letdown compared the Dynaudio. Midrange power is really where the base system is lacking.
In Madness, it did a decent job with the power and clarity with the bass line, but it just didn't have the low range.