GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Disappointed in amount of turbo lag in my 2020 GTI

MarkGibb

Car(s)
2020 Mk 7.5 GTI
Hi y'all. Newbie here, I just got my Mk7 GTI in June. I searched the forums for "turbo lag" but didn't find anything.

As the subject says, I'm surprised by the amount of turbo lag I experience. When it gets into the power band, it's sweet. But in second gear, it doesn't seem to start pulling hard until after 2700 rpm. My point of comparison is my son's 2009 Mk5 GTI. The throttle response seems much more immediate in that car. Also, the turbo in my car makes an obvious whooshing sound that I don't hear in the 2009 nor in another turbo car I had. In whatever gear I'm in, it doesn't pull hard until that whoosh gets really going, which makes sense.

Has anyone noticed this? I apologize if there is already stuff about this. Please direct me to the right place if so.

BTW, I have nowhere near the expertice of many of you, and have never done any mods to my cars even though I would love to.

dcgtimk7

Go Kart Newbie
Hi y'all. Newbie here, I just got my Mk7 GTI in June. I searched the forums for "turbo lag" but didn't find anything.

As the subject says, I'm surprised by the amount of turbo lag I experience. When it gets into the power band, it's sweet. But in second gear, it doesn't seem to start pulling hard until after 2700 rpm. My point of comparison is my son's 2009 Mk5 GTI. The throttle response seems much more immediate in that car. Also, the turbo in my car makes an obvious whooshing sound that I don't hear in the 2009 nor in another turbo car I had. In whatever gear I'm in, it doesn't pull hard until that whoosh gets really going, which makes sense.

Has anyone noticed this? I apologize if there is already stuff about this. Please direct me to the right place if so.

BTW, I have nowhere near the expertice of many of you, and have never done any mods to my cars even though I would love to.