GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Golf R or A35 AMG

slipperywhenwet

Go Kart Newbie
So, Mercedes is bringing the A35 AMG hatch to Canada (sorry everyone to the south), which brings me to a huge dilemma.

I'm currently in a 2016 GTI, and will be switching either to a 2019 R, or a 2019 A35 AMG. I have no significant complaints about the GTI, and honestly, the R is the car that I should have gotten from day one. The problem though, is that the A35 looks SO good and the interior looks incredible, but I have no experience with Mercedes, and I'm a little hesitant to get into a car that is on a brand new platform, with a brand new UI, and potentially will not have the level of customization that the R has.

Does anyone on here have experience with Mercedes in general? Costs aside (the A35 will be ~$5000 more than the R), anything really against the new A series?

randomhobo130

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
2020 Autobahn DSG
You listed a lot of question marks that make sense. Also, how will the maintenance costs compare to the R. The insurance costs could be higher as well. Even though you're talking about an R, it's still a VW on paper which tends to help keep ins. costs relatively low. That Merc looks amazing though. I would go R and look at the AMG in a few years once all of the possible kinks have been worked out. Whatever you decide, I'm jealous lol.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

Navi

Autocross Champion
amg's take a huge hit on depreciation. I would try to find a used one after a year. You'll save a lot, unless you really want it new... I am pretty against used cars though. If I had to choose between the two, it wouldn't even be close. A35 all the way.

CarlosCanizares

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf R
So, Mercedes is bringing the A35 AMG hatch to Canada (sorry everyone to the south), which brings me to a huge dilemma.