GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

I need new tires but the choices are overwhelming. Suggestions?

TRexRoar

Car(s)
2015 GTI Autobahn PP
I'm in desperate need of new tires and this is my first time buying them for this car (2015 GTI Autobahn with PP).

I don't know if I should be getting all season tires or just summer tires. I live in San Diego so it's warm all year around and we get very little rain, so maybe summer tires for the whole year would be fine? My car is a daily driver only and I'm most concerned about handling, noise and comfort. I'm hoping to spend less than $200 per tire so all in with mounting and alignment I'm under $1000. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

swcrow

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
7.5 GTI
IF you go AS, Michelin PS4 hands down, but if warm all year long you might as well go high performance summers

Daily Driver

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
2020 GTI SE
I would also suggest Michelin pilot sport 4 all season. But if you don't get any snow, only light rain where you live, I would suggest the high performance summer Michelin pilot sport 4 it's more money but I honestly feel it's worth it or get the Firestones Indy 500, it's been getting great reviews for it's price point. $150-200 depending on your size.

Subliminal

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Slow FWD VW Hatch
I was happy with my Indy 500s when I lived out there, plenty of grip in the canyons

No need to go all seasons unless you drive to big bear or something regularly

Salami

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
MK7.5R
I don't know if I should be getting all season tires or just summer tires. I live in San Diego so it's warm all year around and we get very little rain, so maybe summer tires for the whole year would be fine? My car is a daily driver only and I'm most concerned about handling, noise and comfort. I'm hoping to spend less than $200 per tire so all in with mounting and alignment I'm under $1000. Any suggestions?