GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

In search of perfect coilovers - Eibach Multi-Pro R1's

bostonaudi

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
1995 BMW M3
I've been doing suspension mods on all VW's for many years. Mostly for street tuning, have done autocross now and then, but since move to south a few years back running HPDE's at local tracks suddenly became a lot more accessible. Living in New England is great, but track availability kinda sucks. So the track bug is now a full infection, I've been running HPDE's with my 08 GTI since I got it (its well broken in!), and do a DE about once a month.

I'm anal retentive with suspension - I don't like harsh ride, and poorly tuned and lowered cars aren't where I'm at. Have ridden in a fair number of slammed Mk5's, the cars nice factory tuning is thrown out the window.

In past cars I've run Bilsteins, Koni, KW, Eibach, Neuspeed, H&R etc. Most of it pretty good stuff, and I am familiar with their offerings through many installations on past customer cars.

But at the track, a different set of requirements starts to kick in. Better control at high speed, more at expense of street ride. Is there the perfect suspension that can do both?

At the track on my Mk5 I started out with a ST coilover suspension - essentially a KW V1 from what they claim. This is a nice setup, great bang for buck. The fixed damping setting is spot on for the supplied springs. Ride isn't harsh, and quite good overall. For some reason I got it in my head that I had to have adjustable damping, so removed them and sold. Somewhat of a mistake. I've installed and sold many KW V2 kits on Audi's in past, you can't go wrong with KW.

Next got a Spax RSX kit out of curiosity and ease of damper settings. Easy to adjust dampers, street ride not bad. But again came with progressive springs, not really a track setup. Good street kit, but I felt it wasn't any better than stock overall at the track. Removed, sold.