GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

105,000 miles on my MK7 SportWagen; what should I start worrying about?

Timeisflat

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2016 VW GSW Manual
Car is new to me, and I’m new to the VW world. Got this ‘16 SportWagen FWD 5 speed from an older gentleman who used it for road trips, so it’s mostly highway miles. He took it to the dealership every 10,000 miles for service (I have a HUGE stack of records), repaired whatever they told him needed to be done. Had some recalls performed, and he replaced a defective airbag and rear springs due to rust (seems like dealership BS to me)

When it stopped making boost, the dealership quoted him $3500 for a new turbo so he sold it to me for a song. Buddy got it working again with a $250 wastegate actuator, discovered a leaky t-stat housing so I did that along with the water pump. Took the intake off cause it was a PIA to reach, so scrapped some carbon from the valves while we were in the neighborhood (wasn’t bad at all though)

Wondering what I should expect going forward. Brakes are getting a bit thin, hoping to hold off a year or two and do some Bilstein dampers along with them. Clutch is factory, and I know they’re weak in these cars, but it still bites strong. I believe the original owner went pretty easy on it, and I got an Accord to 310,000 miles on the factory clutch.

Besides continuing to follow the service intervals, what would the MK7 hivemind recommend to keep this car going forever and avoid getting stranded?
I‘m going to start doing oil changes @ the 5-6k mark, and send a sample to Blackstone. Planning on adding Ares undertray at this point to protect that plastic oilpan and the other low hanging components.

What about the timing chain tensioner? Any concerns there?
Fresh coil packs with next spark plug change, or just buy a spare for the glove compartment?
I’m new to DGI, are the fuel injectors or high pressure pump problem areas?