GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Beginner here, no clue where to start.

therealslimhazy

hey everyone, just wanted to see your guys' thoughts. i've been wanting to do some mods to my 2017 mk7 gti that i just got. i've been told by some people that you HAVE to mod this car, and then a few other people saying to NOT, NO, NEVER EVER mod this car, even software tuning cause i'm just gonna get check engine lights forever, problems with other parts, etc etc. Now my question is...what types of "beginner" mods CAN i do to my gti that will make it sound better(not crazy loud/drony, but a little more boost sound) and make it a little bit quicker/faster without like, voiding the warranty or causing problems with other parts or engine down the road. it is my daily driver, so i'm not trying to super mod it into a track car. just some mods that make it sound like "ooooo damn thats nice" while also adding some HP.
Cause that's my biggest fear, is if i mod something like Stage 1, or downpipe, etc...and then 2k miles later my clutch blows out or i now have to replace 2 other pieces, etc.

So in summary, what are the SAFEST mods that you can do to increase boost sound, a little more exhaust sound, all while increasing the HP a bit but keeping the daily driveability.

ty in advance

GTIfan99

Autocross Champion
You're first 2 mods should be sticky tires and a rear sway bar. For most people that's enough to fix the car's main shortcomings.

If the car is DSG, then a stg 1 tune will wake up the car. If 6spd mt, then it's likely going to eat the clutch. The pressure plate in the manuals is pretty weak. JB4 is the tuning solution you want if you're concerned about warranty.

The Fed

Old Guys Rule