GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Beginner here, no clue where to start.

ElectricEye

Autocross Newbie
Thanks - we all have the temptation to ask "what should I mod first" especially when we come to a forum and are slapped in the face by pages and pages of "must have" mods.

You can spend thousands to get lots of mods that you might not need.

Much, for example, depends on what you are used to driving. If you were driving a 1980's Yugo (or a Camry/Corolla or the like), then the GTI is overkill as it is and you'll drive it for 5 years before you say "I want to mod something". If you're coming from a Ferrari, then you might want to add mods now.

My point is that you should mod to what YOU see as shortcomings - not what some faceless people n the internet suggest because it is the mod of the day.

Great advice.
I've always been a bit baffled by those who buy a new car and intend to mod it right away before they've even spent time in it.

imthanick_a

Autocross Champion
Great advice.
I've always been a bit baffled by those who buy a new car and intend to mod it right away before they've even spent time in it.
My friend bought an Evo X and it was bagged. widebodied, and big-turboed before he even told people he bought the car. He recently sold it and bought a fully loaded 2018 S3 and I assume he will do the same to it as well

vj123

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
19 & 16 GTI - sold
Great advice.

I echo your comments. Personally, i want to get used to the vehicle and understand more about it so that i can change (MOD) things according to my liking.

jimlloyd40

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2018 SE DSG
Great advice.

I'm one of the people who baffle you. I started modding mine for power right away but I've been doing that for 55 years. I didn't do anything handling wise though until I got to know the car.

GTIfan99

Autocross Champion