GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Gearbox oil for manual MK6 GTI question

2kgoat

Hi guys

newbie here on the site tried searching it but cant find any old threads

just wanting to know the grade of gear oil for mk6 gti and also how many litres I need to replace it?

Thanks

Jared32

Ready to race!

zrickety

The Fixer
Mobil 1 gear oil, 75w90 I think. You won't be disappointed.

2kgoat

I thought the oem is 75w80 not 75w90, heard the 75w90 is not good as its harder to shift when it's colder conditions, let us know please thanks

Blaznjoe

Drag Race Newbie
2.3 liters is what I estimated as stated above. I used liquimoly 75w90 a few months ago and it's great. $14/per L (liquimoly) vs ~$35/per L (OEM) I don't live in an extreme cold climate so I have never dealt with a hard-to-shift gearbox.

Correction: LiquiMoly Gear Oil GL5 is not the correct oil for our manual transmission. Do not use this version! The correct LiquiMoly Gear Oil is the GL4+ per my communication direct with an associate at LiquiMoly.

I only wish I had this, or something similar, to make the filling process easier.

Plews 55001 Lubrimatic Fluid Quart Pump, Fits Standard Quart Bottles https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000BQW5LK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_EBQCybV1MD79D

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

zrickety

The Fixer
I never had a problem shifting in cold weather with the Mobil 1.

cbenjes

Go Kart Newbie
Please correct me if I am wrong or if the specs on GL5 oils have changed, but the product listed above shows it is a GL5 oil. I know my 2011 GTI tranny calls for a GL4 fluid and I have used Redline MTL for years in multiple vehicles with spectacular results. I recall reading in many places that GL5 oils are not good for the brass parts in the syncronizers and can lead to premature transmission failure.

TheCor

Ready to race!