GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

IAmA Marine Corps Recruiter.

socal87

Drag Race Newbie
There are probably a lot of people who have spent a significant amount of time here on the forums, but have not taken the time to go to www.marines.com to find out what programs are available. My intention here is to educate, not to recruit anyone; I won't try to change your mind or your values, but if you learn something useful that may help you out, I've done my job. Or rather, someone else's job (because I can't get credit for someone who enlists under a different recruiter).

A little about me: I'm a Sergeant (E-5), MOS 2841 by trade (organizational communications systems repairer), joined in early 2007 out of Illinois where I was living at the time. I joined because I wanted the opportunity to go somewhere with my life; I was working minimum wage jobs with no future and little opportunity of advancement. So, having a steady paycheck, guaranteed work, and full medical benefits, along with guaranteed advancement opportunities and retirement options appealed to me. I reenlisted because I realized that I don't have the job skills nor experience (yet) to land a good job in the "real" world, and the job security can't be beat. Not to mention I want to have a family, and I would rather not struggle trying to provide for them.

Please keep political opinions out of this thread; I won't always quickly answer as I do work 12+ hour days at least 5 days a week.

If you don't agree with military service, or have various other political or socieological ideals that contrast with what some may call patriotic....you're welcome, you have the freedom to express such things because of the men and women who serve your country's armed forces.

Open for questions.

socal87

Drag Race Newbie
Are there jobs in the military that don't require going out in the field?