GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

VW Strategy Doomed to Fail (Article)

XGC75

Go Kart Champion
Fucking hilarious. But the guy sounds like he grew up in the midwest, where everyone and their uncle have a strong yet ungrounded aversion to VWs. I've been living in MI for 5 years now, but having grown up on the east coast I can tell you the consensus regarding his second point is very different there. You drove a VW because you wanted a smart buy, but had the modicum of self-respect to buy the one with a well-sorted drive.

Dave10781

Go Kart Champion
One of my favorite parts:

"1. Last year, American consumers purchased approximately 6.4 billion SUVs and crossovers."

:laugh:

PetrolHead

When's the next track day
I like Demuro's writing style, and maybe it's because I analyse this shit for a living, but obvious article is obvious. This was the story 3 years ago when the Jetta went shitty and then the Passat moved to Chattanooga. Chasing volume should not be VW's game, it simply doesn't have the product portfolio for it. What segments have the highest share of industry in the US? SUVs. Compact, in particular. The Tiguan exists, but it's an also-ran compared to the CR-V, Escape, Equinox, and RAV4. No small SUV (which will be the big segment the next few years), no competitive Mid SUV (look at how expensive the Touareg is), no small car (which is a rapidly growing segment), no Large car (which has always been big here). It's a portfolio full of mediocre compact cars, a decent mid car, and that's about it. It's got clever marketing, but that's not enough to move the needle here. VW doesn't get the US market. Until it gets serious about it and really starts to examine the entire portfolio, it's going to continue struggling.