GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

MBA Advice

glory

Ready to race!
I was talking to my bosses at work today (I'm an engineer in training at a consulting engineering firm) and we got to talking about how I could go for an mba to help advance my career. Has anyone done an mba? I don't know much about it but that's it's more of a management type course (for lack of better description). Is it worthwhile? What are the courses like? When should one go for it, after 5+ years experience or whenever?

Never thought of doing an mba til now, any discussion on the topic is welcome.

Sent from the White north with magic

FNR32

Ready to race!
YMMV. In my experience, getting a MBA from anywhere other than a top 10 business school is a waste of time for almost anyone. Now, a MSE is a different story all together. Getting a MBA certainly won't hurt you, but im not sure how much it will help, if any.

grambles423

Automotive Engineer
I'm gonna make this simple. As an engineer.......no.

Experience is key in our field. Frankly, if I see a resume with a masters and no experience, it would be very very hard pressed for us to choose the individual over a more highly skilled experienced worker.

There are some things you just cannot teach in this field. The problem solving logic, the resource knowledge, and application and documentation are just beyond what any masters program can teach anyone. Especially the details for the actual company you work for. I had to learn more about how Honda operated in my first year than anything else.

I'm more than happy to talk with you if you have any questions.

VAGlover1

Ready to race!
YMMV. In my experience, getting a MBA from anywhere other than a top 10 business school is a waste of time for almost anyone. Now, a MSE is a different story all together. Getting a MBA certainly won't hurt you, but im not sure how much it will help, if any.